same design, different colour


1965 Ceylon
Centenary of International Telecommunication Union

It seems that the ITU ( or UIT ) had issued some design guidance to all the countries for these centenary stamps.  Then each post office made their own version – some countries paid respect to the motif and layout, and other interpreted it more freely.

This Ceylon ( became Sri Lanka in 1972 ) stamp is an obedience one, with their three official languages – Sinhala, Tamil and English.  The most radical design on the same centenary is from Ceylon’s ex-suzerain country, the United Kingdom.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.