handset in the 1970s / 40年前の受話器

April 7, 2012

1972Austria001

1972 Austria
completion of full automation
design: A Pilch

This black handset of a telephone is evocative – I remember that I thought the handset was bloody heavy when I first made a telephone call.  I think I was six or seven years old and had to support the handset with both hands whilst talking.  Young children today don’t know about those heavy things, as at the beginning of their memory there are mobile phones!

Although using only two colours, this stamp is attractive for me.  I particularly like the coiled telephone cord which is connected to the map of the country…

子供の頃、こんな黒い受話器が重くて両手で支えていたことを懐かしく思い出すのは、きっとわたしと同じか少し上の世代ですね。今の子供達は記憶の最初から携帯電話があるのだ、と思うとちょっと不思議な感じがします。

たったの2色しか印刷に使われていないのに、なぜかチャーミングなこの切手。黒い受話器の存在感と、くるくると螺旋を描いている受話器のコードがオーストリア地図にこっそり繋がっている様子に惹かれているみたいです。

Leave a Reply

