looking at the stars / 星空を見上げる

October 22, 2011

1 November 1978, Japan
Tokyo Astronomical Observatory Centenary
design: Kanji Takeara

I received a lovely postcard from Japan and this stamp was used.  I remember when this stamp came out – I was 12 years old, just after moving from a small town to the big city of Hiroshima, where I realised that I couldn’t find any stars in the sky.

Now I live on the edge of metropolitan London, but above the forest here there are more stars to be seen.  We had clear blue skies for last few days, similar to Japanese autumn sky, and I’ve been enjoying real stars, as well as the ones on this stamp.





Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,742 other followers

